top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCory Babstock

Scouting Gander Bay/New World Islands


Mortons Harbour

Most of the time these excursions for a morning or a day are intended to mark spots of interest for a return visit and great attention. I like to go into these communities for the first time and see what might be of interest there, take some preliminary shots and make notes. In some cases I go into a town or area and am disappointed, not often mind you, but it does happen.


This was not the case in Gander Bay/New World Islands. I shouldn't be surprised. The area is one of the oldest in Newfoundland and was a huge part of the early inshore fishery economy that was Newfoundland until recently.


Started the day in Gander Bay. There is an island just off the causeway in Gander Bay that has what looks to be an old house and an even older cemetery. You can access it but it involves a bit of a walk. For those you who don't know, I am recovering from spinal surgery and long walks are still a risky area for me. Mark this area as a too do for later.


Just down the road a bit however there is an abandoned store and next to is there are the remains of what I believes are three out buildings. It was interesting as the are all in different states of decay and disrepair. The one closest to the water is almost gone, boards and timbers are strewn across the beach and I have to believe its only a matter of time before it is completely gone.




The thing I really like doing in these types of structures is looking for details, small parts of the larger area that tell its own story. I like to try and figure out what the overall story of the structure is by really looking past the ruin. I love doors, hinges, windows... they seem to hold the biggest parts of the story.







As I said, next to these structures there was a abandoned store front. Shame on me for not taking a photo of the store itself from the front but I didn't, sue me lol. I need to start documenting more of the general things I see on these trips not just the "magic" shots...


The rear of that store however, was very interesting and I took a few shots there... here's one of the better ones.




From there I traveled through Wings Point, Victoria Cove and ended up in Horwood.


There's a bunch of places of interest in Horwood and I will be returning there. There is a church that looks to be out of use. There are a number of houses in various states of breaking down. Here's the thing. I won't go on grounds of a house that looks like it MIGHT be lived in, or is a summer home etc etc. Power lines are my number one influence. If there are no power lines, I assume it's empty. Not perfect, but so far so good. Now, At some point I am going to have to tough up and start knocking on neighbors

doors and asking who owns the house, if I can get in, is it ok to photograph etc. etc. I kind of want to grow my profile a little first though, to lend some validity to what I am doing, I don't want to just seem like some wingnut who is intruding on anything....


Anyhoo... Horwood has stuff, lots of stuff and is on my return list for sure.





I had intended to spend a significant amount of time in New World Islands area but my back and my time table were both conspiring to shorten my day. So I picked one area and drove there. I ended up in Moretons Harbour ....


Moretons Harbour is a weeks work, JUST Moretons Harbour...


The remainder of the New World Islands, I anticipate, are every bit as rich in subject matter and inspiration as Moretons Harbour and I will be spending a significant amount of time in the area to capture what I can. This whole region is heavy in history. Its population, as it is in much of Newfoundland, is aging and shrinking and the relics of history are being left behind...







That's it.... a bare BARE scratch of the surface of a place that deserved so much more attention that I could give it this trip...


It will be an amazing place to return to!



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page